photographing in the dark, damp below

“I know up on the top you are seeing great sights, but down at the bottom we, too, should have rights.”  Dr. Seuss, Yertle the Turtle
 

Shooting upward into dark water from down below  has its own unique set of challenges…not least having to compensate for poor lighting and the movement of the animals.  More often than not, I was shooting blind and having to guess at where these beautiful creatures might be based on where I had glimpsed them last.  On the occasions that I guessed correctly, some truly striking images were the result.  




I certainly didn’t start out intending to capture the courtship rituals of turtles.  And given that the sea turtle spent most of its time while we were there hiding in an underwater cave, I didn’t expect to catch him on film at all, much less from a scant handful of feet away.  If nothing else, the rays passing overhead as we passed through an underwater tunnel–while not a perfect capture–was enough to inspire me to keep working on my underwater shots.   One day I’ll figure out the trick…





Leave a Reply

