happy halloween

Getting down and dirty in my work is (despite outward appearances) one of my few guilty pleasures, and as a child one of my favorite memories was helping my father select and carve out the jack-o-lanterns.  Back then, of course, I was limited by my age and skill to a handful of rather simplistic faces.  As the years passed and real life intervened, however, this wonderful tradition fell by the wayside. Last fall though, my sister decided completely out of the blue that we ought to start carving again.  And despite the mess and the cold, I found that I’d actually missed this.  We’ve grown up a bit from the toothy grins, it’s plain to see, but does that really count?

One thought on “happy halloween

Leave a Reply

